James Dewar

James Dewar (12 October 1942 – 16 May 2002) was a Scottish musician best known as the bassist and vocalist for Robin Trower and Stone the Crows, the latter having its beginnings as the resident band at Burns Howff in Glasgow.


Dewar's career began with Lulu and the Luvvers in the early 1960s. His career eventually reached its zenith with Robin Trower, a British rock power trio, after the 1974 release of the album Bridge of Sighs.

Dewar made his mark as an acclaimed blue eyed soul singer, performing in front of sold-out stadiums and concert halls at the crest of the 1970s classic rock era. The Scot had a rich, powerful voice, with a soulful timbre, and has been regarded by critics as one of the most under-rated rock vocalists. His vocal sound was deep, gritty, and resonating, his style shows the influence of Ray Charles and Otis Redding. Like Paul Rodgers and Frankie Miller, his voice evoked a bluesy, soul-inspired sound.

Dewar recorded his one solo album, Stumbledown Romancer, during the 1970s, at the height of his career, but it was not released until two decades later. He collaborated primarily with longtime Procol Harum organist Matthew Fisher on the album, with the title track relating a hard-luck story ...

...Stumbledown Romancer

I never made the grade

Never on the dance-floor when the music played

Always moving on when I should have stayed...

At Dykebar Hospital in Paisley, Scotland, Dewar died in May 2002 of a stroke after years of disability resulting from a rare medical condition which caused a series of strokes (JimmyDewar.com). His funeral was held at Paisley's Woodside Crematorium.


With Stone the Crows

on bass:

  • Stone the Crows (1970)
  • Ode to John Law (1970)

With Robin Trower Band

as lead singer and bassist:

  • 1973 Twice Removed from Yesterday ----- Certified Gold by RIAA
  • 1974 Bridge of Sighs ----- Certified Gold by RIAA[2]
  • 1975 For Earth Below ----- Certified Gold by RIAA
  • 1976 Robin Trower Live
  • 1976 Long Misty Days ----- Certified Gold by RIAA

as lead singer:

  • 1977 In City Dreams ----- Certified Gold by RIAA

as lead singer and bassist:

  • 1978 Caravan to Midnight
  • 1979 Victims of the Fury
  • 1983 Back It Up


  • 1998 Stumbledown Romancer
Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.